Police say Alabama running back Trent Richardson was the victim in an early morning hit and run car accident today.
Police say Richardson wasn’t hurt but they can not report as yet as to whether he was in a car or whether he was a hit by a car as a pedestrian.
The police the case is now closed as Richardson declined to sign a warrant on a menacing charge after the accident. A Police spokesman says the police won’t release any more information about the accident.
The Police did, in fact, issue a ticket to a driver for leaving the scene of an accident, but they won’t disclose the identity of the driver.
A hit and run car accident is the act of causing or contributing to a car accident and failing to stop and identify oneself after the accident. It is considered a crime in most states, including Florida
In many states, there may be an additional requirement to exchange insurance information and licenses or to call fire rescue and the police. There may also be a requirement to leave a note containing identity and insurance information if the property owner is not present at the accident scene.
The origins of hit and run car accident laws sprung from the difficulties that car accident victims used to confront in identifying wrong-doers that they could be brought to justice. Apart from the obvious ability of a car to flee the scene quickly after an accident, vehicles did not have license plates, and roads were unpaved and thus quite dusty
The perpetrator of a Hit and run carcanfacesevere legal consequences including the suspension or cancellation of higher drivers license, as well as jail. A permanent suspension or revocationn of a driver license is possible in certain states. Attempts to understand the mental state of the wrongdoing hit and run driver began shortly after the offense became criminalized and more recently has been writtne aboutin an article titled “The Psychology of Hit and Run”.
The criminal and other penalties and what defines a hit and run can be different from from state to state. In Virginia, a hit and run is a felony if the accident causes death, injury, or damage to attended property in excess of a certain dollar amount if not is a misdemeanor.
In Texas, on the other hand, a hit and run is a third degree felony if the accident involves a fatality or serious bodily injury. Accidents causingnot as serious injuries are punishable by imprisonment for not more than five years or confinement in the county jail for not more than one year and or a fine not to exceed $5,000. Accidents causing $200 or more in total damages without injuries are punishable by a class B misdemeanor, and accidents causing less than $200 in total damages are a class C misdemeanor.
After calling the police and seeking medical treatment, call the Law Offices of David I. Fuchs at 954-568-3636 to discuss your legal options if you have been the victim of a Florida hit and run car accident.