How to Get a Police Report for a Car Accident in Hollywood, FL
Following a car accident in Hollywood, the authorities will conduct a thorough investigation and create a detailed report. Obtaining a copy of the police report is crucial as it serves several essential purposes in a lawsuit.
If someone is involved in a car accident, they might not know what steps to take to obtain a copy of their police report. Fortunately, there are several ways to obtain a police report, including purchasing it online, in person, or by mail. Typically, the best option is to request it online through the Hollywood Police Department, although other options might be available. The information contained in the police report is critical and can be useful in gathering additional evidence for a possible lawsuit.
For a free case assessment with our Hollywood car accident attorneys, contact the Law Offices of David I. Fuchs, Injury & Accident Lawyer, P.A. at (954) 751-4258 today.
How Do I Obtain a Copy of My Police Report for a Car Accident in Hollywood, FL?
If you were involved in a car accident in Hollywood and need a copy of the police report, there are several options available to you. The easiest and most convenient way for most people is to request a copy online. However, if you don’t have internet access or prefer a different method, you can also request a copy by mail or in person. Regardless of your choice, the process is simple and straightforward, and you should have your copy of the police report in no time.
Requesting Your Report Online
If you need a copy of your police report in Hollywood, the fastest way to get it is to make a request from the Hollywood Police Department online. For accidents that happen in Hollywood, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) keeps crash records. If you are having trouble getting your police report, our Hollywood personal injury lawyers can help you through the process. Copies of accident reports can be purchased on FLHSMV’s online portal.
Usually, it takes up to 10 days for a copy of the crash report to become available for purchase. The reports are not available for public disclosure for up to 60 days after the report is filed. However, authorized parties and parties involved in the crash can request a copy of the report within this timeframe. You will need to pay $10 for a copy of the report, along with a $2 convenience fee. If you purchase the report online, you will receive a download link that will remain active for 48 hours.
If you need a copy of a crash report, you can request one from a Florida Highway Patrol Troop Station or at FLHSMV’s offices. However, if you want to obtain the report within the 60-day period during which it is exempt from public disclosure, you must also submit a Sworn Statement to Obtain a Crash Report within 60 days of the accident.
Moreover, if you wish to request body-worn camera footage, you can do so within 90 days of the incident. The cost for reviewing and redacting digital evidence is $35 per hour, and payment must be made 30 days prior to the work commencing. Failure to make payment within the specified time frame will result in the request being closed, and a new request will be required if you still need the records.
Requesting Your Report by Mail
If you prefer to request your police report by mail, our team can assist you with that as well. To make a mail request, you or your lawyer must send a sworn statement confirming that you are authorized to obtain a copy of the report within 60 days. The statement should include important details such as the date, location, parties involved, and the law enforcement agency that created the report.
Once the statement is completed, it must be mailed along with a check or money order to the FDHSMV at the address below:
- Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Mail requests can also be sent directly to the Hollywood Police Department at the following address:
- Hollywood Police Records Unit
3250 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, FL 33021
If you make a request for a copy of a report within the 60-day period when it is exempt from public disclosure, you will also have to submit a sworn statement stating that you are authorized to request it during that time. The processing time for mail or in-person requests can take up to four to six weeks.
Requesting Your Report in Person
Lastly, you could also get a copy of your police report in person directly from the Hollywood Police Department. You can visit the Hollywood Police Department’s Records Unit at the address mentioned above between Monday and Thursday. The unit is open from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. on Mondays and Thursdays, 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. on Tuesdays, and 12:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. on Wednesdays.
If you are looking to obtain a copy of your police report after getting involved in an accident in Florida, you have a few options to consider. One way is to visit the Florida Highway Patrol station located in the vicinity of where the accident took place and request a physical copy of the report. However, you will need to bring along the sworn statement mentioned earlier and fill it out to complete your request.
How Your Police Report Can Help Your Car Accident Case in Hollywood, FL
When a car accident occurs, police accident reports become a crucial source of information for insurance companies. These reports are considered reliable because they are prepared by a neutral third party, the investigating officer, who has expertise in handling and analyzing car accidents.
Without relying on the police report, the insurance company might have to rely on the conflicting stories of the drivers involved in the accident, leading to a potential dispute over fault. In the absence of objective evidence, the insurance company might find it challenging to determine which driver was responsible for causing the accident. Therefore, obtaining a police report is essential to ensure a fair and just settlement of a car accident claim.
Florida law requires drivers to contact police in case of an accident involving injury, death, hit-and-run, an intoxicated driver, a vehicle requiring towing, or property damage of $500 or more. If a driver is involved in an accident that does not fall under the categories requiring reporting to law enforcement, they might submit a crash report to FLHSMV within ten days of the accident.
Failure to properly report an accident might affect your ability to seek compensation for injuries or losses sustained. Insurance companies might question your account of the accident or even dispute whether the accident occurred at all due to the lack of a legally required report.
Our Hollywood Car Accident Lawyers Can Help
Contact the Law Offices of David I. Fuchs, Injury & Accident Lawyer, P.A. today at (954) 751-4258 for a free case assessment with our Ft. Lauderdale car accident lawyers.