Car Accidents

Accidents with Uninsured Drivers in Fort Lauderdale

Car accidents are stressful enough–but what happens when one of the drivers doesn’t have insurance? Suddenly, a new layer of complexity has been added to your case, and only adds to the physically, financially, and emotionally taxing aftermath.

When these accidents with uninsured drivers happen, you’ll need an uninsured accident attorney who has the negotiation skills and legal know-how to help you reclaim what’s rightfully yours. David I. Fuchs, Accident & Injury Lawyer, P.A. is such an attorney. He’s been helping uninsured drivers, drivers with expired insurance, and car accident victims gain a sense of justice for over 30 years now.

To schedule your free consultation, call (954) 568-3636 today.

Who Pays for Damages in an Uninsured Driver Accident?

Florida is a no-fault accident state, so Florida car insurance requirements work a little differently here. For example, many states require drivers to have bodily injury coverage, but Florida does not. However, state law mandates all drivers to have some amount of coverage.

So what does ‘no-fault’ mean, exactly? It basically means that drivers will have to use their own personal injury protection (PIP) insurance to get some coverage after an accident. If you have medical bills that exceed your PIP coverage, you can turn to the legal system.

You can file a personal injury lawsuit against the uninsured driver to obtain compensation for damages like pain and suffering, excess medical costs, lost wages, and more.

What Happens If the Person At Fault Has No Insurance?

The person who is at fault must pay for all the damages to the property, and may even be sued by the other driver if serious damages were sustained. Purchasing a car insurance policy the next day won’t help you, either, as it’ll only cover damages incurred after the purchase date. Additionally, many car insurance companies are reluctant to give low rates to uninsured drivers.

What Are Some Consequences Uninsured Drivers Face in Florida?

Uninsured drivers can face fines up to $500 as well as a possible suspension of their license and registration.

Things can get a bit sticker, though. Their car’s license plate may be confiscated, they might have to pay reinstatement fees to get their license back, or they might face further criminal charges if they’re caught driving on a suspended license.

How David I. Fuchs, Accident & Injury Lawyer, P.A. Can Help You

If you’ve been involved in a car accident with someone without insurance, you’ll need a reliable attorney who knows Florida uninsured motorist law inside and out. For over 30 years, David I. Fuchs has been helping clients involved in accidents with uninsured drivers get the compensation they deserve.

He is a seasoned negotiator whose compassionate approach to working with clients has earned him a reputation as one of the most well-known uninsured accident attorneys in Florida, and he’ll be there to answer your questions, comments, and concerns every step of the way.

Call (954) 568-3636 today to learn more about how we can best serve you.