Florida Laws on Electric eBikes
Over the years, e-bikes have soared in popularity, making up a significant percentage of overall bike sales — primarily because they allow riders to travel long distances without breaking a sweat.
Electric bicycle sales grew exponentially when people searched desperately for a safe way to enjoy the outdoors during the COVID-19 pandemic, resulting in a 145% increase in e-bike purchases across the U.S.
Finally, the law has caught up with the growing prevalence of e-bikes, and Florida has passed legislation outlining its regulations — bringing safety and clarity to the public.
E-Bike Laws & Regulations in Florida
Florida provides e-bike riders with all the rights and privileges that regular bikers have. However, local jurisdictions can still institute regulations regarding e-bike use.
How Does Florida Define E-Bikes?
Florida law considers an e-bike and a regular bicycle to be the same thing as long as the e-bike doesn’t exceed 20 mph and is only powered by the rider.
There are three classes of e-bikes:
- Class One – These are bikes with motors that only work when you pedal and stop working at 20 mph.
- Class Two – These are bikes with motors that work without pedaling and disengage at 20 mph.
- Class Three – These are bikes with motors that only work when riders pedal but can go up to 28 mph.
Where Can You Ride E-Bikes?
Florida allows e-bikers to ride anywhere that regular bikes can — no matter the class. However, specific state parks or local entities might restrict your access. We recommend contacting your local agency to see where riding an e-bikes is prohibited.
Furthermore, federal law still considers e-bikes motorized vehicles. Therefore, some recreational areas under federal jurisdiction might prevent you from riding your e-bike.
Do You Need a License to Ride an E-Bike?
Since Florida doesn’t consider e-bikes as motorized vehicles, you’re under no obligation to get a license. Even more, you’re not subject to any laws regarding financial responsibility, vehicle registration, or title certificates.
You do not have to wear a helmet on an e-bike unless you are under 16 years old. If a parent allows a child under the age of 16 to ride an e-bike, they could be cited for a violation.
Are There Limits on E-Bike Power?
E-bikes can’t exceed the speeds outlined in the classes above. All e-bikes should be manufactured with a label showing the class number, speed, and wattage. An e-bike’s electric motor shouldn’t exceed 750 watts, and it’s illegal to modify the e-bike or tamper with it in any way to increase its speed or power.
Are E-Bikes Dangerous?
Although people are lining up to buy e-bikes, it’s vital to take proper safety precautions before riding them (wearing a helmet, knee pads, etc.) — especially because some of the top consumers of e-bikes are elderly individuals prone to more severe injuries from an e-bike accident.
With class three models reaching top speeds of 28 mph on busy roadways, inexperienced riders could end up in devastating wrecks. This, and the fact that e-bikes are significantly heavier than standard bicycles could add to the severity of your injuries.
According to the Consumer Product Safety Commission, emergency room visits increased by 70% between 2017 and 2020 due to injuries from micro-mobility products — including e-bikes. With this in mind, it’s essential to know the risks involved with e-bikes and what to do if someone causes your accident.
Let a Florida E-Bike Injury Lawyer Help
Although new laws attempt to clearly define e-bikes and increase their safety, riders can’t control the negligence of other drivers or equipment manufacturers. Florida E-bike accident attorney David I. Fuchs will help you recover all you lost from your accident and hold the liable parties accountable for their actions.
Whether you were in an e-bike, bicycle, or another type of accident, David I. Fuchs Injury & Accident Lawyer, P.A. has the experience to fight for your compensation. Contact us today.